Quickbooks and quickbooks alternative?

JHZR2

Staff member
I have an LLC for some rentals that I do. Im pretty new with it, but I have a number of tenants, so a number of income streams. Not many expenses, power, taxes, some upkeep... Maybe the more complex expense is when I drive back and forth to the property, which is just mileage. I have whatever my capitalization in the property is, I guess at some point Ill make upgrades, or cash some out, or roll the money into additional property (the most likely approach). As far as I can tell I dont need to do a lot more than treat the business account like I would any other checking account, as that tracks income and expenditures. Over time, it becomes my profit/loss basis, I guess.

Im tracking things in excel, but it has been recommended to use something more capable like quickbooks. That said, for me for now, to pay quickbooks $12+/mo or $349 for the new sw package on a desktop seems like a lot of expense. I dont mind paying once for a sw package, but I dont really like the concept of the continuous monthly fee for software.

So... any recommendations? Pretty simple situation, single party LLC so what is earned is mine, no employees, no payroll. What's the best bet for accounting without spending a lot of (recurring) money on sw?

I would start with the basic Quickbooks online. You can quit anytime if you don't like it.
$12.50 (or whatever it is) is dirt cheap.

Most of these have monthly subscriptions, better to use excel than pay per month.

I would start with the basic Quickbooks online. You can quit anytime if you don't like it.
$12.50 (or whatever it is) is dirt cheap.
Yeah, it is cheap, but its still a recurring cost that Im not sure I even need. I could spend a lot of time and effort for naught.

Most of these have monthly subscriptions, better to use excel than pay per month.