Mitsubishi-Last Dealer in City Closing Shop

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just received notice from last dealership in the area that they are closing up and moving service to one of their Kia locations. Saw the handwriting on the wall months ago as visits to service department noted slow activity, few customers, showrooms empty.
now my issue is what to do with mine, I have been debating selling it for a few years now (great car but maint cost is high, 97 3000GT VR4 with 52,000 miles) and few independents will work on it so I may head to a local lot that will sell it on ebay as well as advertise in all the sites and see what happens. Not sure I trust a Kia dealer to service it although some would day a good tech is a good tech regardless of the shop they work at. It is about time for timing belt, tensioner, water pump etc and the estimate is $1,300, mostly labor. I either sell it or do the maint and keep it. tough choice.

Anyone else seeing their Mitsubishi dealers going away?

DO NOT sell your VR4,you'll regret it,trust me,unless you wanna sell it to me
smile.gif
Get on some 3000GT forums and ask about some good shops in your area,or if you have a spare car,do the work yourself. It'll be rewarding,educational,and will save you some $$.

Yeah,I've noticed Mitsubishi seems to be disappearing. You used to see their cars everywhere.

Saab is gone in Stratham, NH; now we have a new Mitsubishi dealer. Man Mitsu need to step up the idiotbox marketing in the US. The lancer is one of the nicest looking compacts - esp since you dont see them coming and going. IIRC the trannys dont take well to being brutilised unless you have the EVO monster.

Mitsu's been on the ropes for a long time in the US, and rumors of their demise intensified when Suzuki exited the US market a couple months ago. Tough for dealers to stay afloat with slow sales & service business. Only 2 Mitsu dealers currently in the Detroit metro.