Long long long term car ownership

Status
Not open for further replies.
I always go into buying a vehicle with the thought of...I'm going to keep this thing forever. Then it's sitting there at around 170,00 plus miles, it needs a major repair (and small ones) and I bail. Just did it with a Lexus, it needed $4,000 in various reposts and I traded it in. Kind of regretting that when I'm paying my monthly car payment and that yearly $500 plus excise tax bill comes in. Never mind the dealer hidden fees when I bough the thing...the paper work prep crap.

I'm a tech, I know how vehicles can go south pretty quickly and start nickel and diming you, but maybe it is worth fixing these things? My Lexus had to go simply because almost every part for that car was three times as much as a typical brand, but I'm seriously considering keeping my latest vehicle (2018 Silverado) for a ridiculously long time.

Anyone go very very long term on a vehicle and was it worth it? Paying for those big big repairs.

I drove an $800 saturn another 11 years, I think that's long term.
laugh.gif

When I dumped it, there were many issues creeping up at the same time. I was pretty happy, because I didn't want a nickel-and-dime situation. It had a driver's window that needed guiding to go up, falling headliner, 4 oddball brand tires, and a clutch/tranny issue that blocked 1st gear despite double-clutching.

That was at 244k-- at 175k I went through it with new piston rings, timing chain, struts on all 4 corners. Was a nice mid-life refresh that I got to enjoy for many miles. Barely burned oil at the end and the AC still worked.

My excise tax is a fraction of MSRP, so it doesn't matter if my car is 5 years old or 20-- a $25k car is a $100 annual bill. I'm annoyed when GM overinflates their MSRP then offers 17% off or whatever-- that just hits me with unnecessary tax.

If we only bought new and went 20 years, we'd buy about three cars as adults. That's pretty boring.