If corn is so bad why are we still growing so much of it?

This is a genuine question as I do not know the answer, so please don't shoot.

So far I heard a lot of negative things about corn using a lot of nitrogen fertilizer, wasteful as ethanol source, feeding cows are not really energy efficient compare to other sources, and growing it is harmful to the soil condition and all.

Yet I'm sure there's a reason why we still grow so much of it to feed cows and pigs and we don't have a better alternative for much of the farmlands in the US. What is the reason? How is the economics of corn compare to say, soy beans, hay, other grains, etc?

Lots of products come from corn - high fructose corn syrup, other corn derived sweeteners for the beer brewing industry, corn for people to consume, etc.

As an ex farmer I can tell you this: Corn is bad for the soil (too long to explain here) Only reason to grow so much is political (ethanol and the corn belt votes) It helps selling combines which are a big tkt item and the "almost as good as meat" crowd jump on the fact that it's a poor conversion into meat which is true.

What is wrong with corn? The Dairy cows around my house eat the whole corn stalk [silage] along with Alfalfa and other whole grains The meat cows are fed the grain part to fatten them up. What makes Soy any better ? Lots of hay and other grains are grown.

Last edited:
As an ex farmer I can tell you this: Corn is bad for the soil (too long to explain here) Only reason to grow so much is political (ethanol and the corn belt votes) It helps selling combines which are a big tkt item and the "almost as good as meat" crowd jump on the fact that it's a poor conversion into meat which is true.

This!