Disturbing trends in education ...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Me too--I graduated from a small class of 400. Just to add color, 7 of our top students went to Williams College. Then, and now, I think that's disproportionate from such a small class.

I had no need to take the SATs more than 1X, thanks to my public school education.

At any rate, I went to college for engineering. When I got there frosh year, I met a ton of kids from Brooklyn Tech, some from Bronx Science. I got a real lesson in what happens when kids come from an elite public HS and are hard workers. My first exam I scored a 29/100, which was good for a C. Suddenly, the kid from the class of 400 got introduced to a real world pecking order....
My high school graduating class was +/- 20. From that group there is/are: 1 nurse, 1 physician, 1 teacher, 2 engineers, 2 engineering technologists, 1 accountant, 1 actuary, 2 farm wives, 1 clerk, 1 manager at a major utility - and I've lost touch with the rest. Not too bad for a small town school.

I only failed one exam in my life. Got 25% on a geology "true or false, wrong from right" exam. For anyone who has never taken one I can assure you they are the devil's own invention. That was a warm up for the final exam and I had already finished studying. I concluded I had used a faulty strategy, didn't open the book again, answered only those questions I absolutely knew were true or false on the final exam, and scored an A.

Back in the day when parents were more involved in their kid’s education and upbringing there was more interaction between parents and the kids. From helping out on projects or just watching Dad work on the car helped to tie together what you had learned in school. It’s not how much you learn in class from a book but it’s how you apply that education in the real world.

Today most kids bury themselves in their rooms with a device and miss out on that experience.