Better strategy to win scratch off lottery tickets?

Generally scratch off tickets have better odds than Powerball or mega millions. A lucky winner got a $20 million from a $100 scratch off ticket ( has 1:3.7 odds for any price and 1:2million odds for the top prize) in one of the gas station near my house in south Texas. I wanted to buy one ticket at the same gas station but $100 is just too much to swallow, then there is another $30 ticket which has a 1:2.88 odds for any price and 1: 1 million for top prize. This has to be the best odds for any ticket in Texas. I dont hope to win millions but any change will be a good one. There is another $5 scratch off ticket with a top prize of $500 with 1:1000 odds, seems to be a better buy. Anyone has a better approach or strategy for scratch off tickets, besides buy only the tickets with better odds?

will rogers.jpg

I worked in the Lottery business 18 years and recently retired. Don't play is my best advice.

To say the odds are not stacked in your favor is to put it mildly!
Best to save your money. Even in cash with zero % interest, is still better than throwing it away!

MIT did some lottery research years ago. It was quite interesting. It seems there were ways to occasionally beat the odds, in some games (that no longer exist as far as I know). The strategy required a massive expenditure and multiple players.

Other than those specific games, the house always wins. Often by much more than people understand. These state based games are never anywhere near a typical gambling house, of almost 50-50 (47-47 really), with a house edge of 4.7%.

In fact there is no game with a worse house edge than the lottery or scratchoff tickets. As most of the proceeds go to the state and not to the winners.

They are a tax, and nothing more.

With one exception. They make fun gifts for a large party.