Attempt to rebuild alternator

I had to replace an oil fouled Alternator on a Honda J35 and I was wondering if I should attempt to clean it and rebuild it or if I should just turn the core in for $50. Is it hard to rebuild and what parts would I need to do the job? I have never done one before. Thanks.

Here is a link to an alternator and starter rebuilding shop in Ohio that sells rebuilding kits.

You might look your vehicle up to see if there is a kit for the alternator.

Here is a link to an alternator and starter rebuilding shop in Ohio that sells rebuilding kits.

Unfortunately, it looks like they only have early 2000s starter rebuilds available for the Odyssey.

If it's oil fouled, maybe a good cleaning and looking over the electronics. If the mechanicals are good, could you use an voltage regulator assembly?

If the oil damaged the stator windings by dissolving the varnish on the "wires", then it's pretty much shot.

Rewinding a stator is job for a shop; not usually DIY.

If you’re not experienced at rebuilding an alternator start with one that will be worth rebuilding. As said previously in this thread the oil has degraded the rotor and stator windings.

I had to replace an oil fouled Alternator on a Honda J35 and I was wondering if I should attempt to clean it and rebuild it or if I should just turn the core in for $50. Is it hard to rebuild and what parts would I need to do the job? I have never done one before. Thanks.
Most likely all it needs are brushes and maybe diodes.

First time DIY rebuilders can change bearings, brushes, voltage regulators and possibly solder in a new set of diodes. Beyond that you need professional help.

That said if you take the old one apart, you might find what's wrong. And if you don't, you can probably reassemble it to a state where the parts jockey will give you your deposit back.

I tried to replace some diodes in a Taurus alternator once. You need a lot of heat to unsolder them. They must use a torch?