Amsoil - 25,000 mile OCI???

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I'm considering going with Amsoils 0w20 (ASM). Both their website and the rep I spoke to said that is a 25,000 mile oil when used with their Ea filter. My question is, has anyone actually gone 25,000 miles on their oil?? I'm hoping that it will last 15,000-18,000 miles, which is 1 year of driving for me. BTW my vehicle is a 2005 Ford F150 5.4 with 36,000 miles on it. So far, I've been running Motorcraft 5w20.

I have no experience with the 0w20, but did run the S2k 0w30 for 13,000+ miles (1 yr) in a 2002 5.3l Yukon XL. I did change the filter and topup with 1/2 qt at 7,700 (Amsoil SDF filter). Oil analysis was great (residual TBN 5.4) and they advised I should go another 4-5000 but I had already changed it because it had been 1 yr. I used this as a basis for going 2x OLM OCI's.

Supposedly great oil...but it depends on your vehicle. I don't think I'd trust ANY oil to 25K oci's. IMO, get a uoa at 10k and go from there. Plus you also have to consider your warranty if need be.

First of all the ASM is so new, no one in the public has that many miles on it.

Second it’s not automatically 25K. In some/most cases it’s 15K miles for severe driving, unless it’s a non-sludge engine (which yours isn’t) and then it’s max recommended OEM OCI. And it’s also limited by 6 months or 12 months depending on engine and conditions.

People rarely drive 25K light miles in under 12 months.

What kind of driving do you do?

PS I hope you didn’t give a dealer your account. Thanks.
welcome.gif

Amsoil is capable of 15k miles per year.

If you're doing 25k miles per year, you are doing mostly highway. It's doable, but I recommend oil analysis www.dysonanalysis.com to verify. For myself, I prefer 8k-12k mile drains with any oil.

Well if you gave another Amsoil dealer your name and particulars, and you go to buy the stuff, he'll get the credit. I'd like the chance to be your full service dealer and give you the best answers.