ford tells me to run 10W40 in my 5.4 ford 3V

Status
Not open for further replies.
many moons ago I worked as a tech at a couple Ford dealers and "critical customer" = major PIA that is driving you nuts ,this is a way to appease them and get them out of your store. The 40 weight wont hurt anything but possible very long term durability and if the customer simply wont listen this is a way of quieting the engine down and getting rid of them.
Its a stretch to say Ford is "recomending" this oil.

I agree, we had a few "Gems" of customers over the years when I worked in dealerships. Lucas OS went into a few so called noisy engines owned by major "PIA" customers. It didn't do them any good but it got them out of the dealership, which did us good.

Originally Posted By: stranger706
I wonder why they skipped 10w30 and went straight to 10w40?

XXw-40 is the first grade that's not "energy conserving". Energy conserving grades 5w-30, 10w-30 are designed to thin to borderline 20 weight 1000-2000 miles after an oil change.

GM put in a dipstick which effectively overfilled the engine a quart over the original "full", then installed a larger sump to cope with Aussies who didn't ever expect to empty a sump between normal service intervals.

I just for the first time put MC 5w-20 in my 2005 F150 with the 5.4 and its quite a bit noisier at idle, I can really hear the Phasers now but it runs fine and I'd rather have reliability than a quiet engine. FWIW- I've ran 10w-40 and even some 5w-40 Rotella in my truck with no issues whatsoever.

These engines are just inhrently noisy, of course Ford should have known this was going to cause issues with "whiny" customers.

Originally Posted By: aquariuscsm
Originally Posted By: OVERK1LL
Oh yeah, a 40-weight is going to BREAK things! I'm amazed the GT500, and Ford GT stay together with that 5w50 in them.

I agree with OVERKILL. If I ever buy a Mustang V8,5W50 is the first thing I`m putting in it.