Forgive my youthful ignorance

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was watching NBC nightly news a minute ago and they had a story on the housing market bust... apparently something about in Ohio they are issuing bonds to save people from losing their homes (I smell S&L scandal 2.0 brewing) and the reporter interviewed one lady, she stated that the lady feared she would "lose the home she has owned since 1965" because her mortgage payments jumped to $1500 a month... got me thinking, now I'm no rocket scientist or real estate agent but it seems to me that mortgage should have been paid off around 12 years ago, correct me if I'm wrong.

the reporter continued the story, walking down a street - a street she said alone had 4 homes in foreclosure, and that neighbors on the street worried about their property values.

again, forgive me for my youthful ignorance, but why in the **** would you be concerned with your property values? why don't people run around saying "oh man GM had another recall, I'm concerned about my silverado's market value" ? my guess is that you can't get equity lines of credit on cars.

what other reason besides wanting to milk your home's equity teat would someone have for worrying about their properties value?

I personally couldn't care less, bought it, live in it, keeping it why would I care what someone else thinks my home is worth?

Some people think of their home as a pile of cash. Weird I know.

The news likes to hype this stuff to blame someone. And I suppose it's some rich guy's fault that a lady in Ohio took out a new $400,000 mortgage on her $300,000 home.

There have always been places in the US where home prices were depressed, never benefiting from the huge run-up in prices in other parts of the country. Was Brian Williams reporting live from those places? Of course not. Not newsworthy.