Minimum DIY air compressor for home

Status
Not open for further replies.

JHZR2

Staff member
Hi,

I am curious what is the minimum air compressor I can use for small DIY jobs. I would never be sandblasting, never be painting, etc., etc. I would have an impact ratchet and a gun, so that I could remove bolts that hold brake calipers and lug nuts. Thats really about it.

I may be way off, but I wouldnt mind only being able to use the tool for a couple seconds at a time... it still would be a LOT better in many situations that I encounter, than a breaker bar or whatnot.

Space is a premium, so thats why Id like as small as possible. I also wouldnt want to spend that much $$$, as I wouldnt use it THAT much, or for that many things.

We just got a 1hp thomas at work for some lab uses... its electric, 1.7 CFM at 100 psi, and has a 2 gal tank. Its a nice size... but it might be too small to even start the tools... I couldnt say as I have NO experience. It would be about optimal in size, etc for me.

I wouldnt mind a gasoline powered unit, as I like/prefer things with engines over motors... but that would likely make it more $$$. However, opinions and infor would be appreciated.

So many of the topics on the board that I searched had much larger uses than I desired. Many reccomended much larger units than I could take and keep. All I want to do is run an impact wrench or ratchet unit for a few seconds at a time. Just enough to loosen nuts/bolts. Beyond that I dont mind even using an old fashioned ratchet...

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks,

JMH

Most air-driven impact wrenches that are going to have enough torque to break a lug nut loose are going to require a compressor of a pretty decent size/price tag.