What makes Motorcraft and Kendall oils so great?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: MolaKule
Quote:
Interesting. What role does friction modification play, and how important is it compared to other factors like HTHS, flash point, film strength, detergency, etc?

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubb...ddit#Post729029

The main reason for Friction Modification additives is to reduce friction which in turn increases mpg.

Those other items are totally separate topics.

Thanks for the link, MolaKule, and for taking the time to explain it. This is just the kind of info I was hoping for!

Originally Posted By: meborder
Why do I like Trop-Artic?
$1.99/qt
Great UOA's and good TBN retention with respectable OCI's

Click here

What's not to like?

X2.

I have been using Trop Artic for a few years in a couple of our older cars ever since we got an Orschelns. But it is not just "beater oil", I have run it in the Jeep and consider it one of the best oils in it's segment.

It is unbelievable how quiet the old Lumina runs on it when it's warmed up.

Originally Posted By: fdcg27
Originally Posted By: Claud
I think one thing all mega mile engines have in common is oil changes before they are needed using good quality oil. Whatever the OCI mileage is, it is before the old oil has started to break down to the point of not giving top notch wear protection.
I dare say there are fans of all reputable brand oils who swear that their favorite oil is behind the engines longevity, when it is really due to diligent maintenance.

Claud.

Probably the main factor in reaching high mileage with any engine is intensive use.
This is why taxis and cop cars can achieve such high mileage.
I don't think that drain intervals matter as much as regular use.
Here's a thought experiment:
My mother has an '03 Accord K24, bought new.
The car has done all of 81K over the intervening years and has had regular oil changes every six months from new using whatever the selling dealer.