Warped Rotors already - 17k miles Mazda 3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Most likely pad deposits as already pointed out in the stoptech white paper. O'Reillys will turn them if they are mostly rust free they are better than buying aftermarket rotors.

Alternatively you can try cleaning them with some sand paper, brake cleaner and a pad replacement.

Originally Posted By: EdwardC
I'm sure I won't be the first one to mention this, but supposedly the majority of "warped rotor" cases aren't actually warped rotors, just uneven friction material deposits on the rotor surface.

http://www.stoptech.com/technical-support/technical-white-papers/-warped-brake-disc-and-other-myths

Regardless, if it's under warranty, let the dealer fix it
smile.gif

IMO this is way overblown or just does not happen here. I have been turning rotors and drums for 30 years and have yet to see uneven pad deposits.I do see lots of warped rotors that leave uncut spots on both sides and exactly opposite each other.

The original front pads of my 2000 E430 were gone at 10k miles, the pads have wear sensors and it lighted up before the first oil change. I don't remember if the original front rotors had been replaced at that time or not.

The original tires(Goodyear) went to wear bar at 14k miles, about the first oil change time.

Originally Posted By: Chris142
IMO this is way overblown or just does not happen here. I have been turning rotors and drums for 30 years and have yet to see uneven pad deposits.I do see lots of warped rotors that leave uncut spots on both sides and exactly opposite each other.

Are you turning on your own equipment? Or, always the same shop?

Originally Posted By: HTSS_TR
The original front pads of my 2000 E430 were gone at 10k miles, the pads have wear sensors and it lighted up before the first oil change. I don't remember if the original front rotors had been replaced at that time or not.