This happend to me last nite (spooky bike story)

Status
Not open for further replies.
I get off shift and start my Motorcycle (12:00 midnight), Ride through my very well lighted town and never even noticed my headlight was not working.. As im with traffic and headed out of town i realize something not right.. I pull over and it dawns on me MY HEADLIGHT NOT WORKING ! So i check my fuses, and they are good.. great now what do i do ? im 5 miles from home and its all 55 mph highway (no lighting) very little traffic. Im not calling family at 12:15 am and having my wife wake up the kids to come get me.. I dont want to be unsafe, Im certainly not going to drive without a light... HOLD THE PHONE.. I have my surefire Z-2 combat light on my duty belt.. So this guy knuckles the flashlight (a very bright light) and yes my taillight is working.. and zips it home.. let me tell you shifting gears and the flashlights beam shooting up in the air, even for a second is very spooky at speed.. I dont suggest it..

With that said i tore into the bike this morning, i replace the bulb and all i got was high beam.. lows not working.. I testlight (tested) the pigtail and i was only getting power on one of the two power wires coming in. I opened up the switch, cleaned what i could get to with compressed air then gave it a shot of WD.. nothing.. so im stumped.. I guess the low position on the switch could have given out..

Last edited:
Was going to say, try both High/Low

FYI - I keep a spare bulb. Wrapped in foam and a couple plastic zip ties. Shoved in a void in the headlamp bucket.
Carrying a couple LED flashlights in the bag, one small, the other larger (EA-4) might be good enough taped to the bike as long as battery (NiMH-Eneloop's) power holds.
Just haven't lost a bulb yet on a bike.

Good move with the combat light
thumbsup2.gif

Very creative

Originally Posted By: OtisBlkR1