Mac tools ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ndx

Hi Guys,

Looking at buying some sockets used on ebay ...

There is a lot Mac tools are they any good ?

I'm tired of the cheap stuff stripping bolts ...

Thank you

Yeah they're okay.

Poke around on garagejournal.com until you go crazy.

Somewhere they test sockets for round-off-ability.

Thank you, Any other recommendations ?

Matco
Snap On ?

I will be getting used stuff so I will hunt them for cheap

new stuff prices are insane.

If you buy Mac,Matco,Cornwell...they should be warrantyable thru the tool trucks.

Originally Posted By: Ndx
Hi Guys,

Looking at buying some sockets used on ebay ...

There is a lot Mac tools are they any good ?

I'm tired of the cheap stuff stripping bolts ...

Thank you

I'm a UPS diesel semi mechanic. I own some Stanley made tools. Stanley has owned Mac for 30+ years and I've never had issues with their stuff.
Are you using 12 point sockets which can round off bolt/nut heads easier than 6 points?

Originally Posted By: NHGUY
If you buy Mac,Matco,Cornwell...they should be warrantyable thru the tool trucks.

Not sure if they would like to talk to me as they were purchased online, I don't have a shop either...

Quote:
I'm a UPS diesel semi mechanic. I own some Stanley made tools. Stanley has owned Mac for 30+ years and I've never had issues with their stuff.
Are you using 12 point sockets which can round off bolt/nut heads easier than 6 points?

6 points, I think the only Stanlet staff that I can get my hands on now ... is all made over sea... so not sure about the QC.

Last edited:
I'm not sure I would want really old sockets. Newer sockets if made right contacts the bolt/nut on the flat NOT the corner. Newer Craftsman socket are like this now. I think the Snap-On patent expires years ago so others may use the newer method.

I might look at Cornwell still make in US and prices are pretty good even for new.