On oil cleanliness and machinery longevity

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here goes:

I have an air conditioner that I use to heat my home during wintertime. I have been using it for the past 8 years. It's total electric energy consumption during each winter has been ~2500 kwh. This equates to ~2300 hours of operation per winter, a total of 18400 total hours of operation.

I should have to add the summer operating hours, ~3000.

Overall operating hours should be ~21400 hours. That's many many hours if you ask me.

There are 3 facts about an air conditioner:
1) Oil is practically never changed (I have never changed the oil in an AC)
2) The quantity of oil is very small
3) Oil contamination (chemical or particle-wise) is very small since they are closed systems.

It is very easy to conclude that the greatest part of wear in other machinery is due to contamination, given that the machine is well designed in the first place and loaded within its limits.

The usefulness of bypass filtration in car engines just went up a couple of notches in my mind.

I would like to hear your thoughts on the above. Thanks

Last edited:
I suspect AC's, like internal combustion engines, don't experience most failures because of oil cleanliness.

My experience suggests most cars that need a new engine are from being overheated, timing belt failure, and oil starvation. These events probably account for more cars hitting the salvage yard than worn bearings from using a OCOD.

A/C compressors in a sealed system operate in an oxygen-free environment, so the oil will pretty much last until the compressor motor burns out or suffers a mechanical failure. Keeping your coils clean is the best way to ensure a long life.

Originally Posted By: alexeft
Here goes: