2003 Saturn Vue Sludge Problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

Earlier today, I was changing the oil on my Father's 2003 Saturn Vue today. This has a 3.0L V6 engine in it. He has 149,400 miles on it. The car has an oil life monitor on it an usually, the monitor tells him that the oil needs to be changed around every 6500-7500 miles. This time, it was about 7000 miles since the last change. I've been doing the oil changes for him several years and we are using Mobil Super 5000 5w-30.

Today, I drained the oil out and it came out looking like it usually does, somewhat dark, but not black. Then, after it had all drained out, and I had I replaced the filter and drain plug, I removed the oil fill cap and was astonished at what I saw on the cap and on the sides of the fill tube. See the pictures below. I've never seen sludge before (except in pictures). And it usually is oil colored. What I saw (and you can see in the pictures) is more of a peanut butter or caramel color. It had a consistency of something closely resembling cool whip. Also, as you can see in the pictures below, looking down into the engine, below the fill tube, it looks more normal.

I'm hoping that somebody can tell me that this isn't sludge, but I can't think of what else it might be. Is this engine a known sludge monster? What do you guys think?

Thanks!
Bryan Walton

DSCF6565.JPG

DSCF6566.JPG

DSCF6567.JPG

DSCF6568.JPG

How is the coolant level on this car, something is going on, hope it is not a Headgasket going bad.

That's not sludge.

That's oil/water emulsification that is the result of the engine not getting up to temperature to flash all the water off. Since the filler cap is a high spot, if the vehicle is short tripped a lot, you get this build-up in that higher, cooler area, where the water condenses and mixes with oil vapour giving you this.