Whoa - there is a 10W-30 Amsoil OE DIESEL oil!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
After Amsoil introduced OE 15W-40 for diesel engines, I made the comment 'they should really make an OE diesel 10W-30, as lots of applications call for this'.

Ask, and ye shall receive:

http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/oec.aspx

Like I thought it would be, specs are great, and it would well in gas application where one is looking for a really stout 10W-30 to use.

Very cool!

Hmm..I'll catch a lot of crud for this, but I may just try this in the VW. HTHS is high enough, TBN is nice. Interesting...

I'm not sure why Amsoil would come out with a 10W-30 after they already had a 5W-30 HDD. I would expect it to be just as good, or maybe even better for some applications though.

I've been using the 5W-30 HDD in my CAT powered RV for the last 3 years. I've had pretty good lab analysis on the yearly samples.

Yeah it looks good but if I was going in for that much money, I'd use the 5W30 HDD.

PS- But this is the OE, so it's a little less money than the HDD, I guess. I wonder what prompted Amsoil to come out with this. We are seeing more low vis diesel oils these days.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: INDYMAC
I'm not sure why Amsoil would come out with a 10W-30 after they already had a 5W-30 HDD. I would expect it to be just as good, or maybe even better for some applications though.

The OE 10W-30 is API SN/CJ-4 and low SAPS.

-Dennis

Someone should try some Amsoil OE/XL 0w20 mixed with this oil for a car spec'd for 5w20/5w30 . And do a UOA as well while they are at it
laugh.gif

And if that person does that, can I have a million USD please ?

Lol j/k !

But back to the oil, looks like a winner. I like the low NOACK. Should work well in some chrystlers/dodges that still have 10w30 spec weight requirements too !