How effective is Bar's Leaks?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have used Bars Leaks 3 times, and it has worked 3 times. I think the condition of the radiator is important, and it probably won't fix a leaky clogged up radiator, a good flush first is essential.

It should work with Dexcool as it says on the bottle "works with all modern antifreeze mixtures, including OAT mixtures". I think it may work better if the system is drained, flushed and the Bars Leaks added to plain water. That said, I have just added some to my car, with green stuff still in the system.

I have used various products over the years. Neither Barr's Leaks nor anything else I have used lasted indefinitely. If you have an engine with Dex Cool in it, I would look for a more permanent fix. I am new to Dex Cool, but from what I have read, much of the problems seem to come in systems that lose coolant and are run low.

Used it Twice, both times for suspected head gasket leaks, coolant seeping into combustion chamber when really cold and gasket contracts permitting coolant in.

One case I had to replace the radiator within a month of the stop leak. Another, it seems to have worked and have had the drain and fill (not a flush) of coolant since then and still seems okay.

IMO, use as a last resort in lieu of new gasket or radiator. Nothing to lose scenario

Stop Leak works but it also clogs the passages in the cooling system, and if you flush the system with a strong cleaner it will start leaking again. Course ground pepper will seal small leaks too, and its cheaper, its even free from McDonalds.

If it is junker that you need 6 more months out of, try the bars leaks, it does work (for about 6 months). If this is your long term ride, fix the leak.

I had a 17 year old cadillac cimarron (don't laugh
smile.gif
) that had a pinhole in the heater core that re-frosted my windshield. After bar's leak, it de-frosted like designed.

They say it clogs heater cores, I said "oh yes please."
smile.gif