Chevron 5w/30

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Morning To All,

I've been using Pennzoil 5w/30 Platinum for the last several years and have been very satisfied with the UOA's; low wear, running the oil about 5000 miles, with the advice I could go to 6000 easily. Great oil!

Costco ran a special where I picked up 12 qts of the Chevron for $21.00; $1.75 per quart.

Since I am a creature of habit, I am reluctant to change, but with Pennzoil now at $5.75 at WalMart, I am wondering if Pennzoil is worth $4.00 more per quart.

I live in Southern California, with no real cold issues, or extreme heat issues; extended drain intervals really don't enter into the equation due to warranty purposes.

Any Chevron feedback?

RevRider

If I recall correctly(not positive), it seems to shear a bit sometimes. But the engines don't ever seem to notice.

Chevron/Havoline DS are awesome oils.

They start as a very thing 30-weight (9.7cst), so they don't actually shear much, at all.

Great oil, great price. I ran Mobil 1 for about 10yrs and many others including PP, Syntec, RP, Val Maxlife Syn and ST all 5w-30. With the exception of the Maxlife Syn having more chatter during cold starts in Feb-Mar, I have not noticed one bit of difference. So I switched to CS because it seemed like a great deal. (Also, I never ran any of the syn oils far enough to justify the price, so it just made sense for me to switch to conventional)

With all the rebates and bulk oil availability, $3 per/qt seems to be the max one should spend on a full synthetic. I did the same bot 2 cases of CS 5W-30 at Costco, that i'm using on a leased car and a older car w/126k miles. My new car Genesis V8 w/ 6k miles, I bot 3 - 5 gallon Jugs of Synpower with rebate for 2.75 a qt @ the Wally World in Foothill Ranch. If you can't buy the synthetic for cheap, it's not really worth it. (unless it's a Ferrari, don't sweat it).

Does anyone know if synthetic oil will keep the engine cleaner than the dino product?