2009 V-Star 1300 What oil and coolant?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a new 1300 Tourer, its parked for the winter right now here in Alaska, it has right now just 43 miles on it, I was thinking of draining the factory oil right now and start it off with some regular Rotella T 15-40 not synthetic, after maybe another 500 or so miles next spring then maybe go to synthetic or should I wait until it breaks in further?

I am a heavy equipment mechanic but fairly new to working on motorcycles and recently this year I own two the other being a 1980 Honda CX 500 that just loves the Rotella T. I can see a lot of truth in the Motoman break-in procedure and when the roads clear up I will continue doing just that, the materials in this engine are cutting edge stuff thats superior to what I have seen in other engines. Also whats a superior coolant to use now that the engine is basically spotless? Dexcool Extended? or Peak Global?, I hear the latter is better, I am religious about oil changes and my Silverado Dually 8.1 gets its Mobil 1 swapped out every 1500 miles. And Amsoil is liquid gold up here and nigh impossible to find cheap.

Thanks.

If it were me, I'd wait. With only 43 miles on it, it's less than some new cars have at delivery.
People have complained for a long time about Dex-cool; I have it in my Gold Wing with no problems.
I'm going back to a quality green/blue stuff next year.
That 'regular' stuff is good for three years easy in cycles.
Just be sure it's silicate free.
Honda auto dealers have the same stuff that cycle dealers have but it's cheaper.