GM Top End Cleaner

Status
Not open for further replies.
btw can you suck in carb spray cleaner via the vacuum hose (pcv) with no ill affect?? the reason why i ask is part curiosity and partly bc i cant take my intake tube off without the truck shutting off due to it having a MAF sensor.

GM Top Engine Cleaner is far and away much stronger than Sea Foam.

IIRC, Sea Foam is a detergent pack in a light oil. Top Engine Cleaner is a 100% VOC solvent. The MSDS lists "2-BUTOXYETHANOL, naptha, 4-METHYL-2-PENTANOL, 9-OCTADECENDIC ACID" as the components. I'm no chemical engineer, but that all sounds pretty nasty.

As others have said, you can pour it in just as you would Sea Foam or you can mix with gasoline and introduce via the fuel rail with a pressurized cleaning tool. Personally, I've done both with good results from each.

Also, I'd do an oil change after I completed the cleaning.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: MrHorspwer
GM Top Engine Cleaner is far and away much stronger than Sea Foam.

IIRC, Sea Foam is a detergent pack in a light oil. Top Engine Cleaner is a 100% VOC solvent. The MSDS lists "2-BUTOXYETHANOL, naptha, 4-METHYL-2-PENTANOL, 9-OCTADECENDIC ACID" as the components. I'm no chemical engineer, but that all sounds pretty nasty.

As others have said, you can pour it in just as you would Sea Foam or you can mix with gasoline and introduce via the fuel rail with a pressurized cleaning tool. Personally, I've done both with good results from each.

Also, I'd do an oil change after I completed the cleaning.

yeah i plan on changing the oil soon after.. the problem with this stuff is that i keep reading to suck it in via the pcv valve but at the end let it choke the motor off. doesnt this cause hydrolock??

I stopped by my local Chevy dealership this morning after pulling an all-nighter. Asked the parts guy for some Top End Cleaner. He goes, "Wow, a lot of people have been asking for this. We should order some."

Grrrrrrrrr.
mad.gif
mad.gif
mad.gif
mad.gif