5w-30 in my Ford 302 V8

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey, guys. Well, it's getting to be like winter around here, now. I live in east Tennessee, and, well, the lows are already getting into the 20's.

Is it a good idea to use 5w-30 in my truck. It's an '86 F-150 4-speed w/ low/granny gear (NP435 tranny) and a 3.50 axle ratio. I am a Castrol GTX user in all my vehicles that I use conventional oil in. I have been using Castrol GTX 10w-30 in it. Well, I didn't know if 5w-30 would be better for it on cold starts. Or, is 10w ok to go with until it starts hitting 0 degrees outside?

I trust the 10w-30 GTX, but this is my first time ever buying 5w-30. I know it won't have as good of a base stock. I just now read that most 5w-30s sheer down to 5w-20s after 3000 miles, or at least that it is common. Is this true?

I put a tach in my truck, and at 55mph, I'm turning 2300RPM. Sounds like 3000RPM, lol.

Anyways, just looking for some input on this. I should have just stuck with 10w-30, I guess... but I just wanted easier start ups in this freezing weather.

I wouldn't worry about using 5W-30 in your 302. It will be fine. You'll have easier cold start-ups and as long as you change it regularly, you shouldn't have to worry about shearing. I've been using 5W-30 in my grandpa's 1988 Crown Victoria (also a 302) for over ten years with no problems, whatsoever. I usually switch to a 10W-30 (or 10W-40) for spring and summer and use the 5W-30 during the fall and winter. Go for it!
thumbsup2.gif

Awesome. In Mobil1's case, 5w-30 vs 10w-30, their 5w-30 is actually thicker at 100C.

But, for Castrol GTX, I read that the 5w-30 and 10w-30 have the same viscosity at 100C. So, that's one thing that made me not feel bad about going 'down' to 5w-30. It's just that it's not as good of a base stock as 10w-30. But, I change the oil in this truck every 3000 miles, or actually, BEFORE 3000 miles. Why? I dunno :p