synthetic oil in older bmw

Status
Not open for further replies.
i ran amsoil 20w-50 in my 78 bmw r80/7. it made an oil leak i had worst (i understand why, so don't bother explaing it) but other than that there didn't seem to be any problems. i went to the dealer who i bought the bike from and was chatting with him. i mentioned that i put synthetic in it and he flipped out. said never put synthetic in bmw's or ducatis, he said that it makes tons of carbon build-up form on the piston head.

i am a big believer in amsoil (just beacme a dealer
smile.gif
and i think he is full of it.

what do y'all think

thanks

-jason

Hi,
jarmstrong - I have no knowledge of Amsoil
products.
These engines have very "simple" oil needs without a transmission to consider

The R100RS has a thermostically controlled ( 90C I think ) engine oil cooler which is why mine was initially put on SLX 0w-30. I just got a bit nervous on hot 110C summer days, and, after a water coooled VW engine problem with the same oil!

I used Castrol synthetic gear and diff oils in mine too. It sure made a difference to the box.

Regards

Doug, Roy Rogers the old t.v.cowboy star once said when your young and fall off of a horse you may break something , but at my age when you all fall off of a horse you splat!

[ September 04, 2003, 08:24 PM: Message edited by: Steve S ]

Hi,
yes Steve S - horses are not as quick as even older Bimmer bikes

My "big scare" came early one Sunday morning at about 120km/h - I came over a sweeping corner hill to find a Kangaroo in the middle of the three lane road about 25 metres away. They are stupid animals and I have learned that you aim for them and they normally jump off. I had no choice, I did this and it jumped away

Next time - well ?

I miss the bike a lot! I sold it to an enthusiast so I suppose thats a plus

Regards
Doug

Doug: