Pennzoil Platinum Euro 5w40 - '17 BMW M3, 4300mi oci w/ mods

The m3 is a daily driver in a metro setting with about a 50/50 mix in driving. The car has a CTS Turbo intake kit, BM3 stage 1 93 octane tune, and AA single mid pipe done so far. I would say I'm a fairly aggressive driver once the oil has warmed up. Its hard not to play in sport+ with this much power tbh. This oci saw everything from a hard August 200mi charity "cruise" to 1mi drives to the grocery store this winter.

I was curious how well the dry filter CTS cones were working vs stock, and to see how the tune was affecting the oil with the extra stress. I have probably 1 more OCI of this oil (if I buy some single qts), but its good to see it wore well for peace of mind on the first I didn't test. I'm running Valvoline Euro 5w40 since its now on the shelf locally in 5qts for much cheaper than the PPE 5w/40 6qt boxes from amazon.

Attachments

• f80 oci.jpg
    f80 oci.jpg
    150.1 KB · Views: 453
The flash point is down. That seems normal for PPE 5W40, but this is too much IMO. I think it is the tune, or you did not warm up oil properly before taking the sample.
Your silicon values are OK. That means the air filter is filtrating properly.

I would personally stick to this or Motul 5W40 GEN2.

If you are not tracking vehicle, maybe Castrol Edge 0W30 would be a better choice.

You don’t think it’s the winter driving and short trips that caused the fuel dilution?

@Lead Shoes — is the tune on the rich side? Seems like you have quite a bit of fuel in the oil.

I would personally switch to OAI or another lab that uses the GC method for testing fuel dilution. Blackstone is woefully inaccurate when it comes to fuel dilution as they use the flash point method. I bet your actual fuel dilution is 3-4 times higher than that. I left Blackstone after 10+ years and switched to OAI for this very reason.