Motion sickness in small planes

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have started getting the AOPA magazine and have pondered going up for a short hop in a small plane, but I'm worried about motion sickness. I fly commercial airliners without incident, I can even read onboard, but I have to think that looking out the windshield of a little Cessna single would be a different thing. What percentage of pilots/passengers are prone to motion sickness and what are the best remedies?

I recently spent the weekend at Lake Cumberland, did fine on the boat, but got violently ill once we were in the water, floating around on noodles and rafts, where I could see the surrounding bluffs moving in relation to me, and couldn't touch bottom. Trying to be low-key while vomiting into the water without drowning myself was a drag. Took till the next day for my equilibrium to get back to normal.

As a flight instructor, I have taken hundreds of people up in small airplanes for their first ride. I would say only about 10% feel motion sickness to some degree, but few actually get sick. Those who do have some motion sickness on their first flight, usually have no more symptoms after the third or fourth flight. Knock on wood, I've never had anyone vomit in the airplane. One key point, if you start feeling sick, tell your flight instructor to get back to the airport ASAP, they will not argue with you, trust me.

I've never been up in a small plane like that, but I do get pretty bad motion sickness sometimes. I take meclizine regularly through the winter time when I take public transportation. If I'm the passenger in a car, I'm usually fine until I look down at my phone. Like you, I have no issue on a commercial flight. I do think that unless you're doing some aerobatic type maneuvers, the motion of the plane would be very different than on the water.

If I was concerned, I'd take beforehand or at least bring a chewable antiemetic onto the flight.