Briggs oil vs synthetic car oil

I've always used HD 30 until this year. I had a lot of Mobil Super Synthetic 5w30 on hand. I am using this instead and have no problems. There is no extra consumption like I've read about. YMMV

Thanks for all of the replies, this really helps. I will probably switch to Mobil 1 in the spring when I change the oil again. It will cost me about 10.50 to change to oil in my lawn mower for a season, which is only 2 dollars more than the briggs oil. For the extra 2 dollars, I get a full synthetic. Hopefully Mobil 1 will work in my lawn mower.

So I have been mowing a few lawns around the neighborhood with my Toro Super Recycler, and I have been using Briggs and Stratton SAE 30 oil for a few years since I bought the mower used. I am wondering if I should stick to the Briggs SAE 30 conventional, or if I should use the Briggs synthetic, or if I can just use a 5w-30 synthetic. I have been reading a little too much into oils and their ZDDP amount for small engine oil. Do "lawn mower" oils have better additives, which will make my mower last longer or not? I watch the LawnCareNut on YouTube and he uses Mobil 1 10w-30 in Florida. I live in the northeast, mowing about 3 hours a week. I change oil 3 times a year in my lawn mower.
Sticking with the Briggs or any small engine sae30 oil would do you just fine. Yes small engine oils are packed with extra zinc in their additives. Would switching to a synthetic harm anything most likely not..

you change the oil out 3x a year if you start mowing April to October @ 3 hrs a week that’s about 84 hrs of mowing.. normally one goes 50 hrs or once a season for an oil change in your case 2 should be fine.

If you did swap out to synthetic you can definitely keep that oil change to 1 per season and just top off if need be.