Bought a boat--recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.
We just recently bought a 1997 pontoon boat with a 2005 Yamaha 25 hp outboard on it. I am new to boats, so I have some questions.

1. Do I have to use specific Yamalube or equivalent marine engine oil, or will any motor oil do? It takes either 10W-30 or 10W-40.
2. Do I have to use marine specific gear oil? It calls for SAE 90 GL-5, which I can get anywhere, or is there some reason to use marine gear oil?
3. I'd like any recommendations on service and maintenance for this motor as well. The boat will come out of the water in the winter so it'll need winterizing for storage. During the season it will get used about 2 weekends a month at a small inland lake with fresh water so it won't see a lot of hours.

Thanks guys!

My brother is famous for saying that a boat is a hole in the water you try to fill with money.

Seriously, enjoy your new toy
smile.gif

ONLY marine gear oil. Its not expensive, Wallmart sells it. It can deal with any water that might get past seals, etc. But you do not need brand specific gear oil. Just one that meets the specs for your engine.

I assume a 4 cycle engine? I have never had a 4 cycle outboard, just 2 cycle and now Mercruiser. Again, get the oil at Walmart in the marine section. Boat engine tend to run constant RPM for hours on end. I use 15W40 diesel in my Mercruiser, but I would suggest to get the oil at Walmart.

Defender (online) and Amazon are good places to order boating stuff online. At a boat dealer or West Marine will cost you a fortune.

Don't forget to maintain your trailer.

Last edited:
Congrats. One of the 2 happiest days of your life. Check with the Yamaha dealer. You need to use the oem spec oil and oem spec marine gear lube for your gear case. Stabil in the gas.

Originally Posted By: JMHC

1. Do I have to use specific Yamalube or equivalent marine engine oil, or will any motor oil do? It takes either 10W-30 or 10W-40.