Retired. Dreams are of work...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Been retired a year. Most dreams are of work. Stupid Lab work. Banal repititious stuff.from twenty years ago. Have done all kinds of work, don't no why this stuff sticks in my dreams other then it was a challenge to get the tests done every hour. The least important job I've ever done.....I've spent the last 15 years handling millions of barrels or oil on a daily basis. it's just odd to me.......

When I was working I dreamed of retirement. Now that I'm retired I dream about work.
confused.gif

I was a TV tech and I still sometimes fix an old Zenith or RCA in my dreams.
Like someone opened the old filing cabinet of habits & experiences that need "resolving" in the middle of the night.

It'll pass

When I was in college I did a data entry gig on the night shift for a few years. I still have a reoccurring dream, of falling asleep at work, and the manager coming to wake me up. It's the kind of thing that makes me kick my feet in the bed. Hated that job, terrible.

Should we call them nightmares, since you can't forget about them? Just kidding.

They probably come back into your mind since you did those tasks thousands of times.

Yup. Retired library director for nine years after being there 35 (entirely too long). Last night dreamed that I was chewing people out for buying CD audio books when CD's have been obsolete for a decade. Found some new ones on the on-line catalog before I went to sleep. Downloadables only-- I got more on the ball then my successors, even as an unconscious geezer.

Last edited:
I would guess it is pretty normal.

I have been out of the Navy since 2005, but I still work around it.

I have Submarine dreams all the time. Some of them not good. Some of them funny.

I figure at least I am getting into REM sleep and that is good thing.