Cleaning a new 4.0 V6

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been cleaning engines the same way for the last 20 years with no issue. I'm not sure why I'm so hesitant this time on cleaning this one, but I am. Usually when you buy a new car the engine is clean. Not so with this one LOL. The engine is a bit dirty because the truck sat through the winter months. Would you wash it by hand or gently hose it off? The coil packs are exposed and I'd cover them. The alternator sits low on this truck. Otherwise it looks pretty covered.

[Linked Image]

Run a wash mitt over it during your normal wash and gently rinse it.

I normally do jambs, trunk, hood, and wheels in that order with their own bucket and before washing the rest of the car.

Not a bad idea. I don't see the point of using Simple Green HD when there is no grease. It's just dust/dirt. I think I'm going to take your advice.
thumbsup2.gif

Usually I go to a self serve car wash, spray everything with Gunk, blast it with the high pressure soap and finish with high pressure rinse. Obviously, don't aim the hose directly to electrical connectors or modules, and if you think it may give you trouble starting, keep it running while spraying. If it's just light dirt like on yours, you can replace the Gunk with something milder like 409 and rinse with a garden hose at home.

I recall seeing some vehicles back in my consumer car repair days, wherein the owners periodically washed the engine bay. To their credit, they appeared spotless. Why did I see them?, because they wouldn't run properly. I found quite a few corroded connectors.

My advice: leave it alone

If you insist, I'd suggest going on a long drive afterward to hopefully dry everything.

Originally Posted by 02SE