becoming auto mechanic in Canada with mechanical background

Status
Not open for further replies.
Does someone have to start from the bottom when changing careers to become a auto mechanic and that person has say 10+ years mechanic background (including fixing cars DIY).

Is any background experience taken into consideration or does one start from scratch?

Thanks

Its a long road from DIY to a successful working mechanic. When I started and possibly Cline too it was probably easier than today but still not easy.

I am not a professional mechanic. That said, I would go to your local, large auto dealer and ask to speak to the service manager- maybe offer to take him to lunch. Tell him up front that you want to pick his brain on how to become an auto mechanic.
I have two friends that are professional mechanics- both Chevy. One went to Lincoln Technical College in Maryland. The other went to Diesel Institute , I think in Nashville.

You can do an adult apprenticeship here...you won't get a job saying you are pretty good at fixing your mates cars at home.

No one cares what you do as a DIY, they want certifications for any trade.

It's difficult in Canada because of credential inflation. You can tell them how good you are at wrenching and how much experience you have in a related field but there is always someone younger than you with a college diploma in their hand. That person will also work cheaper than you will, and the employer will perceive them to be more dedicated initially because they don't have options like you do.