Toyota brand conventional (TGMO)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Anyone have experience with this oil or any detailed knowledge? I see a lot of reviews and uao with tgmo synthetic bUT not much regarding the conventional. Local dealer sells it for 2.88 a quart.

Didn't know they made a conventional.

Last I knew, TGMO was good stuff--but nothing that special. Good, but not worth a premium. At least for synthetic.

Price doesn't seem bad, I mean, I can go to Walmart and get 5 quarts of conventional for $12. $2.88 is more expensive, and if you can time the sales I bet you can get name brand for cheaper. Or even name brand synthetic. But if you need it "now", and you're at the dealer, I don't see that it's a big deal.

FWIW I buy my Toyota filters online. Been a couple of years but back then I could get a box of ten for $40 shipped. I think last time I looked they were cheaper. YMMV.

No, I have no experience with "TGMO" ... that is a good price though, comparable to Chevron/Havoline conventional which are very good also.

I'd be willing to wager the TGMO is re-branded conventional Valvoline or Castrol GTX... or PYB. Isn't speculation fun?
laugh.gif

I looked at the voa for the conventional on pqia. Its from 2012 but the add pack looks similar to mobil super 5000 (titanium as an additive). Pretty sure ExxonMobil makes it now.

Originally Posted By: Jaha24k
I looked at the voa for the conventional on pqia. Its from 2012 but the add pack looks similar to mobil super 5000 (titanium as an additive). Pretty sure ExxonMobil makes it now.

Castrol and Kendall are the titanium guys

Anyone have experience with this oil or any detailed knowledge? I see a lot of reviews and uao with tgmo synthetic bUT not much regarding the conventional. Local dealer sells it for 2.88 a quart.