Silicon Lubricant instead of WD-40 or CRC 656

Status
Not open for further replies.
I used to use WD40 or CRC 656 for years on my old Johnson. About once a month I would take off the cowling and spray the engine down, wires and all, to protect from corrosion. After a couple of years, the spark plug wires and rubber boots would get brittle and crack. I read on a boating forum to use a silicon spray instead, that it would not harm the rubber on your engine. I have been using CRC Silicon spray on my current Johnson for the last three years, and the engine is spotless, with no rubber cracking. I don't know if some of you guys already do this, but if not, give it a try. -Joe

I've tried several types of cleaners/ preservatives/ lubricants on my farm machinery. Including WD-40, Fluid Film, Silicon, graphite spray and Mobil 1 spray lubricant.

The best I've found is the Mobil 1. Does all that silicon does and does not seem to attact dirt in any way.

I have been tempted to try the Amsoil regular duty metal protector. Looks like it puts down a dry wax like film that will not attract dirt or degrade rubber or neoprene.

The Fluid Film and WD-40 were both dirt magnets.

Although the Fluid Film ( I got mine at a John Deere dealership ) is really great to pretreat your mower deck for easy clean-up of grass clippings.

Even then graphite spray keeps the grass from sticking to start with so no clean-up is needed. Be wary of graphite spray it conducts electric current readily and stains every thing it touches including you.

I'd like to get my hands on a couple of cans of mobil spray lubricant, but it seems that it is almost impossible to get here in europe...
Does anyone have an european address for me where I can get it??

tnx
John

Neil,

AMSOIL's Heavy Duty Metal Protector is the one that leaves the waxy film. It will lubricate and will not attract dirt. Makes a great undercoat, as well as bicycle chain lube and cable dressing.