Recent Topics
Decent MP3 player
by Ed_T
06/24/18 07:08 PM
Letgo
by Donald
06/24/18 06:52 PM
Tire buying advice
by supton
06/24/18 06:23 PM
Two versions of M1 5w30 ESP now?
by Patman
06/24/18 06:21 PM
No older cars in New York State?
by Oldtom
06/24/18 06:19 PM
2009 Taurus strut mount noise
by terry274
06/24/18 04:38 PM
A3/B3 vs A3/B4, big difference or irrelevant?
by FordCapriDriver
06/24/18 03:36 PM
2003 Honda power steering problem
by hogpops
06/24/18 03:29 PM
Public Service Announcement: Flush Your HW Heater
by gathermewool
06/24/18 03:25 PM
Fellow 2AZ-FE toyota owners: what oil are you usin
by car51
06/24/18 03:21 PM
Castrol 0W40 vs 5W40??
by Realfine69
06/24/18 03:02 PM
Paint impurities on a new car
by Quattro Pete
06/24/18 02:49 PM
2014 Ram wheel FIT on a 2005 Ram?
by SumpChump
06/24/18 02:41 PM
Do people buy from telemarketers?
by Chris142
06/24/18 02:06 PM
TGMO 0W20, 8100km/5mo, 2013 Lexus GS350AWD 118K KM
by David_Corbett
06/24/18 01:54 PM
Sonoma Raceway
by Warstud
06/24/18 01:51 PM
Zipcode error
by aquariuscsm
06/24/18 01:36 PM
NHRA drag racing Racing question??
by daddi
06/24/18 01:33 PM
Milesyn 5w30 5 gal pails $50.94 w/prime
by Samrsnow
06/24/18 01:20 PM
Removing Broken Bathtub Drain
by Warstud
06/24/18 01:15 PM
Newest Members
crrider, EdDmax, 2018matto, Lancruza, IanSampson
65312 Registered Users
Who's Online
102 registered (A310, 69Torino, 2015_PSD, bdcardinal, bbhero, 379KITTY, 10 invisible), 1596 Guests and 40 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
65312 Members
67 Forums
285932 Topics
4771653 Posts

Max Online: 3590 @ 01/24/17 08:07 PM
Donate to BITOG
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4585455 - 11/26/17 11:23 AM Network help - solved but odd
madRiver Online   content


Registered: 07/11/15
Posts: 3545
Loc: New England
I have a bunch of devices on my network. 15ish

This am my network lost internet and peeking into router(tp link c9) found it had no wan connection. Struggled with reboots and no dice. Finally a laptop to cable modem (arris) worked.

Anyway I finally thought what changed and remember attaching via network cable a $40 Blue ray with smart functions to watch amazon video last nite. I unplugged it and it worked !? Plugged back and lost wan.

I found blue ray player locked up State.

Can one item on network really do this?

Top
#4585461 - 11/26/17 11:27 AM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: madRiver]
simple_gifts Offline


Registered: 07/26/04
Posts: 11950
Loc: Middlesex County CT
I am assuming the BR didn't have the same IP as the gateway? That certainly would garbage up a lot of tables.
_________________________
2004 Prius; 92K ML Syn 5W-30
2007 Yaris 68K 0w-40 Castrol
2006 B2300;130K;ALM


Was driving an ox cart; Now on the USS Enterprise

Top
#4585471 - 11/26/17 11:35 AM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: simple_gifts]
madRiver Online   content


Registered: 07/11/15
Posts: 3545
Loc: New England
Originally Posted By: simple_gifts
I am assuming the BR didn't have the same IP as the gateway? That certainly would garbage up a lot of tables.


I guess that is possible and would make sense. The only way it can get an ip is from router however was in a self connect mode that may have bugs. It uses the play station UI for the apps on Blu Ray.

Top
#4585474 - 11/26/17 11:38 AM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: madRiver]
mk378 Offline


Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 1421
Loc: USA
The only thing ever plugged into the cable modem should be the router. If the modem has 4 ethernet plugs you only ever use one of them when you have an external router.

Top
#4585481 - 11/26/17 11:44 AM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: madRiver]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4062
Loc: Midwest USA
If it's an Arris DG860 I think they tend to dump your router off DHCP from time to time. I have one from cable co and I ended up setting my Cisco wireless router to static IP w/ the Arris's IP and gateway info etc typed into the static IP settings in the Cisco. Not the ISP's gateway and info mind you, but the Arris's. No more loss of internet. The symptom was always the loss of internet but the wireless network remained connected and explorable. I leave the Arris on DHCP but have a client IP reservation for the Cisco router in the Arris's DHCP options. That put an end to internet dropping off the wireless network.
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4585482 - 11/26/17 11:45 AM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: madRiver]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36464
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: madRiver
Originally Posted By: simple_gifts
I am assuming the BR didn't have the same IP as the gateway? That certainly would garbage up a lot of tables.


I guess that is possible and would make sense. The only way it can get an ip is from router however was in a self connect mode that may have bugs. It uses the play station UI for the apps on Blu Ray.


Unless of course it had a static IP that was the same as the gateway from the onset, which would definitely cause what you experienced.

I would assume the UI has a settings menu that would allow you to see and modify the network settings? If so, start there.
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4585483 - 11/26/17 11:47 AM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: LoneRanger]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36464
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: LoneRanger
If it's an Arris DG860 I think they tend to dump your router off DHCP from time to time. I have one from cable co and I ended up setting my Cisco wireless router to static IP w/ the Arris's IP and gateway info etc typed into the static IP settings in the Cisco. No more loss of internet. The symptom was always the loss of internet but the wireless network remained connected and explorable. I leave the Arris on DHCP but have a client IP reservation for the Cisco router in the Arris's DHCP options. That put an end to internet dropping off the wireless network.


Am I to assume from your description that you don't have the Arris in bridge mode? IE, your router isn't getting an external IP, but rather one on in the private range?
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4585485 - 11/26/17 11:50 AM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: OVERKILL]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4062
Loc: Midwest USA
Yes. I don't think the DG860 has a bridge mode option anywhere that I remember. The IP of the Arris that I set my Cisco to is in fact in the private range.
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4585492 - 11/26/17 11:54 AM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: LoneRanger]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36464
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: LoneRanger
Yes. I don't think the DG860 has a bridge mode option anywhere that I remember. The IP of the Arris that I set my Cisco to is in fact in the private range.


Dirty double-NAT, ewww, LOL wink

Try this:

http://www.techjamaica.com/forums/showthread.php?115003-Set-up-Arris-DG860-to-bridge-mode
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4585500 - 11/26/17 12:01 PM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: madRiver]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4062
Loc: Midwest USA
What is wrong with double NAT'ing ?
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4585502 - 11/26/17 12:02 PM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: LoneRanger]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36464
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: LoneRanger
What is wrong with double NAT'ing ?


You are encapsulating the packets twice, which can cause screwy issues with MTU, which then in turn can cause speed issues, pages not loading....etc. It's generally just a bad idea.
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4585506 - 11/26/17 12:05 PM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: madRiver]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4062
Loc: Midwest USA
The video of linked on that page shows turning off WAN dhcp. I don't think that's a good idea. What if ISP swaps DNS servers?
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4585510 - 11/26/17 12:06 PM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: madRiver]
LoneRanger Offline


Registered: 07/02/07
Posts: 4062
Loc: Midwest USA
So do i need to connect my laptop up to the arris like it says on that page or can I just leave router connected? why must the coax be disconnected?
_________________________

'09 Subaru Forester ...................(QSED DEXOS1 5W30)
'16 Moto Guzzi Stelvio 1200 .....(ENI i-Ride PG 10W60)

Top
#4585512 - 11/26/17 12:07 PM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: LoneRanger]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36464
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: LoneRanger
The video of linked on that page shows turning off WAN dhcp. I don't think that's a good idea. What if ISP swaps DNS servers?


I'd just follow the instructions regarding putting it into Bridge mode, that's it. In bridge mode, your router will get the external IP and you can use OpenDNS, Google DNS, Norton DNS or your ISP's DNS as assigned via DHCP at that juncture.
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
#4585514 - 11/26/17 12:08 PM Re: Network help - solved but odd [Re: LoneRanger]
OVERKILL Offline


Registered: 04/28/08
Posts: 36464
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: LoneRanger
So do i need to connect my laptop up to the arris like it says on that page or can I just leave router connected? why must the coax be disconnected?


I believe the instructions are just so that configuration information isn't downloaded from the ISP before making the change. This may not actually be a requirement. And no, you don't have to follow it exactly, the idea is to get into the cable modem and turn it into a bridge.
_________________________
2016 Durango Limited
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >