Recent Topics
Mattress shopping .....
by dblshock. 12/18/18 04:57 AM
AmazonBasics Oil May Drive Prices Down
by knerml. 12/18/18 04:45 AM
Hemi MDS issues are how common?
by Gasbuggy. 12/18/18 03:21 AM
Why use Redline and Redline Clone oils...
by burla. 12/17/18 11:38 PM
Tire choice
by CincyReds. 12/17/18 11:14 PM
Transmission fluid leak
by dawgn86. 12/17/18 07:53 PM
QuickJack BL-5000SLX and my Optima...
by WhizkidTN. 12/17/18 07:23 PM
Champion Air Filter Opinions?
by JerryBob. 12/17/18 06:18 PM
Tundra transfer case plug torque (Borg Warner)
by Idlewild294. 12/17/18 06:03 PM
Winter tire question?
by Muskieteer. 12/17/18 05:31 PM
Who makes good ball joints these days?
by GSCJR. 12/17/18 04:51 PM
Bought a used Ford Fusion
by krismoriah72. 12/17/18 04:14 PM
Valvoline NextGen Tech Oil
by DirtyOilGuy. 12/17/18 04:08 PM
Witty comment regarding a lame car
by Number_35. 12/17/18 03:43 PM
'80s oil literature
by Number_35. 12/17/18 03:26 PM
Recommend on oil for 2017 Kia Sportage 2.4
by SlavaB. 12/17/18 02:57 PM
No more Delo at my Costco. T4 now
by BeerCan. 12/17/18 02:16 PM
Found this
by davedude. 12/17/18 02:15 PM
Newest Members
hopsofir, genera2800, oghl, hdlss, dsmdylan
66711 Registered Users
Who's Online Now
38 registered members (97K15004WD, CC1981, 69Torino, bbhero, Char Baby, Black_Thunder, 3 invisible), 926 guests, and 37 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums67
Topics295,207
Posts4,929,901
Members66,711
Most Online2,553
Oct 27th, 2018
Donate to BITOG
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic #4520518
09/19/17 04:46 PM
09/19/17 04:46 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,129
Upstate NY
Donald Offline OP
Donald  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,129
Upstate NY
I moved my HD enclosure to newish laptop. It's showing up as Disk 1, dynamic and invalid.

Partition Wizard will convert it but not the free version.

Other free products that will do it?

Canmot reformat, need the data.

Win 10 Home

Last edited by Donald; 09/19/17 04:50 PM.

2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Donald] #4520557
09/19/17 05:23 PM
09/19/17 05:23 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 13,537
Chicago, IL
dparm Offline
dparm  Offline
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 13,537
Chicago, IL
If the disk is blank, you can do it with the DISKPART command line utility in Windows. I don't believe Windows will let you do it if the drive has data.


2017 Chevrolet Corvette Grand Sport
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Donald] #4520560
09/19/17 05:28 PM
09/19/17 05:28 PM
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 696
Arizona
Kawiguy454 Offline
Kawiguy454  Offline
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 696
Arizona
Diskpart.exe can convert between disk volume types without deleting data I have done this myself without issue. However if the data is irreplaceable get someone that knows how this is done to do it for you. A second disk attached to the OLD computer may be worth it to make a backup before proceeding.

Last edited by Kawiguy454; 09/19/17 05:32 PM.
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Donald] #4520561
09/19/17 05:28 PM
09/19/17 05:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,362
Somewhere
itguy08 Offline
itguy08  Offline
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,362
Somewhere
A bootable gparted disk may be able to do it.

Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Kawiguy454] #4520565
09/19/17 05:32 PM
09/19/17 05:32 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: Kawiguy454
Diskpart.exe can convert between disk volume types without deleting data I have done this myself without issue. However if the data is irreplaceable get someone that knows how this is done to do it for you. A second disk attached to the OLD computer may be worth it to make a backup before proceeding.


At that juncture it would make more sense to just hook the disk back up to the computer it came off of, copy its contents to a non-dynamic external, then repartition the disk as a regular disk for use.


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: OVERKILL] #4520574
09/19/17 05:40 PM
09/19/17 05:40 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,129
Upstate NY
Donald Offline OP
Donald  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,129
Upstate NY
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
Originally Posted By: Kawiguy454
Diskpart.exe can convert between disk volume types without deleting data I have done this myself without issue. However if the data is irreplaceable get someone that knows how this is done to do it for you. A second disk attached to the OLD computer may be worth it to make a backup before proceeding.


At that juncture it would make more sense to just hook the disk back up to the computer it came off of, copy its contents to a non-dynamic external, then repartition the disk as a regular disk for use.


Old computer no longer bootable.


2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Donald] #4520590
09/19/17 05:51 PM
09/19/17 05:51 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
On the new laptop, under disk manager, what does it show for that volume?


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: OVERKILL] #4520600
09/19/17 06:00 PM
09/19/17 06:00 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,129
Upstate NY
Donald Offline OP
Donald  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,129
Upstate NY
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
On the new laptop, under disk manager, what does it show for that volume?


Disk 1, dynamic, invalid


2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: dparm] #4520606
09/19/17 06:04 PM
09/19/17 06:04 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,129
Upstate NY
Donald Offline OP
Donald  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,129
Upstate NY
Originally Posted By: dparm
If the disk is blank, you can do it with the DISKPART command line utility in Windows. I don't believe Windows will let you do it if the drive has data.


I need the data.


2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Donald] #4520612
09/19/17 06:10 PM
09/19/17 06:10 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: Donald
Originally Posted By: OVERKILL
On the new laptop, under disk manager, what does it show for that volume?


Disk 1, dynamic, invalid


OK, scroll down to the "Workaround" section of the following MS KB, which shows you how to turn it into a "basic" disk:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-ca/help...ep-blocking-pro

If that doesn't work for you, follow the instructions here to use TestDisk to convert it:
https://mypkb.wordpress.com/2007/03/28/h...to-basic-disks/


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Donald] #4520669
09/19/17 07:12 PM
09/19/17 07:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 817
Youngstown, NY
Subdued Online happy
Subdued  Online Happy
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 817
Youngstown, NY
right-click the disk and then click Import Foreign Disks

If this disk is from a laptop that won't boot, you probably have a bad drive. But a dynamic disk needs to be imported into another computer.


2015 Jeep Cherokee 18k
2008 Chrysler Town & Country Touring 149k
2007 Toyota Yaris S 170k

Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Subdued] #4520747
09/19/17 08:40 PM
09/19/17 08:40 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
OVERKILL Offline
OVERKILL  Offline
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 37,967
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: Subdued
right-click the disk and then click Import Foreign Disks

If this disk is from a laptop that won't boot, you probably have a bad drive. But a dynamic disk needs to be imported into another computer.


It generally says "foreign" in that scenario however, not "invalid".


2018 RAM 1500 Big Horn EcoDiesel
2016 Grand Cherokee SRT
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Subdued] #4520760
09/19/17 08:59 PM
09/19/17 08:59 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,129
Upstate NY
Donald Offline OP
Donald  Offline OP
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 21,129
Upstate NY
Originally Posted By: Subdued
right-click the disk and then click Import Foreign Disks

If this disk is from a laptop that won't boot, you probably have a bad drive. But a dynamic disk needs to be imported into another computer.


The disk i question is a RAID 1 array in an enclosure. Its not a bad drive.

I have SteelVine manager installed to manage the RAID 1 array and it can see both of the physical drives. I even had it to a verify last night (within the enclosure) to make sure the two drives are perfectly mirrored. That worked fine. This is not to be confused with the scenario where Windows does the disk mirroring.


2015 Subaru Forester 2.5 engine/CVT
2015 Ford F250 w/Powerstroke
2016 Subaru Crosstrek CVT (wife's)
Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Donald] #4520899
09/20/17 02:32 AM
09/20/17 02:32 AM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 817
Youngstown, NY
Subdued Online happy
Subdued  Online Happy
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 817
Youngstown, NY
You left the array part out of your post. That's important.

You're probably going to have to call support for the people who make the enclosure, some of these arrays can be a nightmare when moving them to a different pc.


2015 Jeep Cherokee 18k
2008 Chrysler Town & Country Touring 149k
2007 Toyota Yaris S 170k

Re: Win 10 - convert dynamic disk to basic [Re: Donald] #4520955
09/20/17 06:05 AM
09/20/17 06:05 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,694
Jupiter, Florida
Cujet Offline
Cujet  Offline
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 7,694
Jupiter, Florida
In years past, the only way I was able to get a dynamic disc to work in a new computer was to purchase the "pro" version of the operating system. Even then, I had to copy the data to a different drive, that different (new drive) could not be set up as a dynamic drive.


People who count on their fingers should maintain a discreet silence.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

BOB IS THE OIL GUY® Powered by UBB.threads™