Score and big ridge in the bore- new engine time?

Pulled the head off and found this in cylinder 1. The bore is quite worn down and there is a significant ridge on it.

This engine ran fine before. Just had an oil leak and some piston slap.

Some pics. 2,3,4 look fine

Attachments

• 20230115_190924.jpg
    20230115_190924.jpg
    93.1 KB · Views: 200
Unless you inclined to rebuild it, throw it back together. If it has piston slap, a dingle hone and new rings is probably not a good idea.

Can't tell from the pic. Can you feel the ridge, like get it caught by a fingernail? Also, what does the cross hatch look like? Drop the piston down (and vacuum that crud off!), I'm curious how much polishing is on the major thrust surface. To me, something these days with a big ridge ought to have nadda left for cross hatch, just seems like, none of the teardowns I've watched have ridges (clearly I'm no expert here).

One vertical scratch? Kinda deep for just one. If the others are fine... ring got hot and butted up on itself? hot in one cylinder, so it self-reamed (reamed itself a new one?) and now you have a weak cylinder? I can't imagine compression being great.

With that said, IIRC it needed a head gasket. I say, slap it back together and ship it. It matches the rest of the truck. Heck, do the compression test later, just for fun.

It will probably run just fine like that. I have seen engines with significantly more cylinder ridge, running just fine. The score is pretty much a non issue. Many people don't know this, but grooves larger than that were intentionally cut into single cylinder motorcycle engines, for a form of passive compression release. Enabling a 500cc single to be more easily kick started. Never caused any issues.

Even if it does, it's likely to be fine in that engine.
Oh it definitely does. Both the ridge and the scratch. At least now I know where the piston slap is coming from.