Frantz tranny filter

Status
Not open for further replies.
There seems to be an issue with the flow rate after the instalation of a tansmission bypass filter. Here's what I found, I checked the flow rate of the return line on my tranny prior to the instalation of the Frantz filter, and after it was installed the flow was much slower than without the Frantz. Now I was very suspicious of the tranny adapter that came with the unit as the orifice went from 3/8" to a 9/32".The adapter diverts some of the fluid to the bypass and the rest is squeezed through this tiny opening, now mind you the slower flow rate I saw was with a new roll of tp in the unit, what happens when the tp gets dirty? I would say an even slower flow rate.I am a mechanic by trade and I know enough not to mess with tranny specs, if the tranny needs to flow lets say 3 gpm and after the filter installation your now flowing 1.5gpm your tranny will not be happy.I think a better design would be an adapter with a spring loaded bypass valve so that no matter what the filter was doing the flow rate would remain consistant.I am not putting the Frantz filters down , I have one on my engine and think it works great but the engine oil filter is set up in such a way that the worst that could happen if the filter clogged would be that the bypass filter would not be filtering, but it would in no way affect the oil presure or the flow rate of the engine. Any input would be helpful.
confused.gif

[ February 07, 2004, 09:08 AM: Message edited by: plexx ]

plexx,