Flush last year..now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh boy! The first person to respond. Such an honored position.

You would be fine. Unless of course you have driven 30K-100K miles since last year. Then you might want to change it out again. What type of fluid in what type of car? Most people leave it in for at least two years.

Only bored, obsessive compulsive individuals like myself would change it out every year.

I change mine every year, but I know that it probably is more frequent than needed. A bottle of coolant once a year is cheap.

In my opinion, the old fashioned conventional coolant (silicate and phosphate) should be changed at least every two years. The OAT based (including hybreds) can be left in longer but I still wouldn't go past four years.

This post, in agreement with the above post, has been edited by the BITOG thought police for the following reasons:

>
dunno.gif

and
>
dunno.gif

Thanks for the replies. I am really new to the game...is it tough to change your own? I only have a limited amount of tools and even less knowledge.

As far as I know, there's two basic ways to do your own coolant system flush and antifreeze change.

A backflush kit from an auto parts store is one way. You put a T-shaped tube in a heater hose. You cut the hose and insert two ends of the tube. Then you hook a garden hose to the third end in the tube, take off the radiator cap, and turn the hose on. The hose water flushes out the system, out through the top of the radiator. When you're done you put a cap on the end of the tube that you hooked the hose to and leave the tube in place for later flushes.