Docker volume help

Wondering if there are any Docker / Linux experts out there familiar with Filezilla.

Setup is on a cheap Racknerd VPS running headless. My kids are into Minecraft Bedrock which I kinda have running pretty well.

I started playing around with Portainer and Docker and went down a bit of a rabbit hole. The nice thing is that I can spin on up a new server really quickly if they want to play in a new world.

The problem comes up when I need to modify something in the persistent volumes. (The server "resource" files sit in volumes, and to modify them with new toys or server mods - you have to add files).

I have been trying to use Filezilla to move files, but am running into permission issues when I try to copy files. Docker volumes are mapped to /var/lib/docker/volumes/...

I'm hesitant to mess with ownership of this volume because I figure the Docker devs know what they are doing keeping the permissions tight. But I have been struggling with sudo MV commands, and was hoping for something graphical, but not a full OS. Can anyone point me in a different direction?

(If I'm honest, I am still lost with Linux file permissions, and groups).

You're ok using mv, as it will preserve owner, group, and perms.

For example if you have a directory owned by root that you want to move just do: mv /dir/to/move /new_path/ and you'll get /new_path/move

root will still be the owner. Of course you'll need to be root or do sudo to mv a dir owned by root.

I recommend using rsync instead of mv, as it will perfectly preserve all permissions, inclusions ACLs.

Here is an example:

sudo rsync -aAXv --progress /mnt/source/ /mnt/target/
  • -a: This stands for "archive" and ensures that symbolic links, devices, attributes, permissions, ownerships, etc. are preserved.
  • -A: This preserves ACLs (Access Control Lists).
  • -X: This preserves extended attributes.
  • -v: This increases verbosity.
  • --progress: This shows progress during the transfer.