3rd party VPN privacy

OVERKILL

$100 Site Donor 2021

TOS as to what's collected:
Screen Shot 2024-02-01 at 10.13.31 PM.jpg

Note the owner of many popular VPN's is Kape (formerly Crossrider), who apparently does/did ad tracking and injection.

In recent years, Kape Technologies has been buying up providers including ExpressVPN, Private Internet Access, and CyberGhost. Ziff Davis, which owns PCMag, also bought IP Vanish and StrongVPN in 2019.

I never understood why anyone would use a VPN for personal use. I have a Nord subscription so when I travel internationally so I can watch American TV on my Android streaming stick and get US sites on my PC, but that's the only time I use it.

I never understood why anyone would use a VPN for personal use. I have a Nord subscription so when I travel internationally so I can watch American TV on my Android streaming stick and get US sites on my PC, but that's the only time I use it.
The advertising is effective. They convince people that they are super-anons on the internet.

Just another industry offering "en-poop-ification"-- build a loyal base, then raise the price and lower the quality while adding ads and making the experience worse.

The advertising is effective. They convince people that they are super-anons on the internet.
Well you're anon from actors looking to track you outside of the VPN provider. The VPN provider also informs you that you can change your OS identifier.

TOR (TAILS) is still probably one of the best in theory but because latency is not all that great due to jumping from node-to-node and a lot of users on the network which makes it easier to track. Of course the biggest issue is that the majority of sites have banned traffic from TOR nodes there aren't a lot of users on the network which makes it easier to track..

Well you're anon from actors looking to track you outside of the VPN provider. The VPN provider also informs you that you can change your OS identifier.