2008 Mazda 6 2.3 Kendall 0W20 7400mi...Thoughts?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I sent off another UOA. As you can see I switched to Kendall's FS 0W20 from their 5W20. Looks like the return was pretty good to me but being a NOOB I hate to draw conlcusions myself. So what do you all think? Blackstone was more than enthusiastic about the numbers and Suggested that I go 9,000 mi on the next OCI.
Html:
OIL Kendall FS0w20 Kendall FS5w20

MILES IN USE 7,369 5,028

MILES 68,530 57,341

SAMPLE TAKEN 11/22/12 6/13/12

ALUMINUM 3 3

CHROMIUM 0 0

IRON 7 6

COPPER 5 2

LEAD 0 0

TIN 4 0

MOLYBDENUM 50 66

NICKEL 0 0

MANGANESE 0 0

SILVER 0 0

TITANIUM 77 102

POTASSIUM 0 0

BORON 75 92

SILICON 6 7

SODIUM 6 4

CALCIUM 2123 2256

MAGNESIUM 7 10

PHOSPHORUS 629 699

ZINC 802 752

BARIUM 0 0

INSOLUBLES 0.5 0.4

WATER 0.0 0.0

FLASHPOINT ºF 390 425

SUS VIS 210ºF 51.4 50.3

cSt @ 212ºF 7.69 7.37

Fuel%
Antifreeze% 0.0 0.0

TBN 1.2 2.5

Last edited:
With a TBN on 1.2 and 1.0 concidered low, I'd cap the OCI at 7.5K and call it good. Wear numbers are about the same on a per mile basis. Id do another run and see what the tin and cooper do. With a 7.5K OCI, could save some money and use the Syn-blend kendall.
Whats your driving pattern?

The app I use says I drive and avg of 68.12 a day. most of that is a 70 round trip to work and back with 60 of that being highway at 70-75 mph. I drive pretty conservatively all the time.

I get Kendall FS 0w20 and 5w20 for 3.62/qt.... so cost isnt too big of a deal. with that said. Ive been thinking of using a different filter for the longer oci.

Originally Posted By: hcbarger
The app I use says I drive and avg of 68.12 a day. most of that is a 70 round trip to work and back with 60 of that being highway at 70-75 mph. I drive pretty conservatively all the time.

I get Kendall FS 0w20 and 5w20 for 3.62/qt.... so cost isnt too big of a deal. with that said. Ive been thinking of using a different filter for the longer oci.