power stteering fluid or ATF for pwr steering, what's the deal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MolaKule

Staff member
Some power steering units have clutches in them so special friction modification, supplied by the additives, would help. Some units need an extra dose of anti-foamant (1 to 4 ppm) to decrease foaming in the pump.

For those pumps with no clutches, Dexron III or Mecron fluids should suffice for most applications.

In my GM and Nissan applications, I use Schaeffer's 204S. It's one of those "sleeper" products that does well and has good value.

[ May 01, 2003, 01:28 PM: Message edited by: MolaKule ]

Different kind of pumps need different fluids. I'm not a auto mechanic and don't know what kind of pump is in what.

If I recall correctly vane pumps require better protection than say a gear or lobe pump.

I know that's not a direct answer, I've wondered the same thing.

what is the difference, technically, between using power steering fluid and ATF in a power steering unit?
I read a lot about power steering pumps calling for various fluids from specific power steering fluid to Mercon or Dexron atf to Type F atf.

For a given power steering unit, why would a "power steering fluid" be better, or called for, over an atf fluid? They're both hydraulic mechanisms using a hydraulic fluid, and the base oil to the fluid is what lubricates the components right?

There are several threads here that have discussed this in detail. There may be more anti-foam in a power steering fluid than an ATF,l according to some, but I am told by many "experts" that ATF will work fine in all.

In all my units that call for Dexron or Mercon ATF I have used synthetic. Only one Ford product has Mercon in the transmisson and Type F in the power steering. Have yet to see one of mine that says power steering fluid only.