2004 5.4L 3V knocking and mis below 1000 rpm

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to this sight, bare with me. I have a 2004 F-150 5.4L 3v. From what I've read on the net, this setup is junk! And to gain what? Emissions? Crazy!

History on the truck. I bought it not running, and sight unseen. It was a bank repo. I finally get it to the shop, and discover somebody started taking it apart. Which is not the worst part. The engine is seized up.

I get the engine out, and tore down. The oil looked like tar! and the first four rod bearings seized to the crank. This was the only damage. The crank was turned 10/10, and the the engine was rebuilt, checking my clearances as I went.

I filled the engine with the recommended 5w-20 and started it up. The engine was quiet, but has a terrible mis below 1000 rpm. And I am not able to pinpoint it to a single cylinder. After the EOT sensor reached 142 deg F, A horrendous knock started. The noise goes away if I raise the rpm above 1200.

After reading several posts and Ford TSB, I decided to change the oil with 0w-50. Which stopped all the noise in the engine. But I still have this terrible mis. Worse under a load, and not driveable at all. I get p0171 and p0174 bank 1 and 2 lean. I've been all over the engine, and no vacuum leaks. It acts to me like the cams are in retard, sucking exhaust gas back into the cylinders causing a lean misfire.

Has anybody ever tried to weld the cam phasers together? Keeping them still? Sounds redneck, but hey, I dont have emisions testing here and dont feel I need it. Its my truck, and if that will work I want to do it. Stop problems from returning down the road, or maybe until Ford comes up with another better Idea!

A miss can come from a bad valve, worn valve guide, worn rings, fouled plug etc. If I was going to guess I would guess that it had a bad coil and it's usually one of the coils on the rear of the engine under the windshield.