Karate vs. Tae Kwon Do

Status
Not open for further replies.
TKD high kicks are not well suited to NHB fighting, but great for looking good and sport.

Quote:

Kinda silly. A .45 would have brought both down real quick.

Only true if you have one at the right moment. And can get it on target before getting your booty handed to you.
But that's kinda not the point. Notice the ring, ropes, ref, etc.? Not real life, just a contest of different styles of martial art.
grin.gif

Okay, I'm confused. Back when I was a student under (now) Master Pat Burleson he taught Tae Kwon Do which was considered a karate style/discipline. When did they become two separate martial arts? I guess competion also has changed in that length of time, because we were taught take-down techniques as a matter of course. None of that "grab each other and wait for the ref's call" nonsense. But then, Pat was the old school, real world type of fighting instructor. As he was fond of saying, "There's no such thing as a fair fight."

Well, all styles used to get lumped together as "karate" (usually pronounced kuradeee).
TKD has it's own competitions and rules, but many guys "fight" in open tournaments too.
These days, it's a game of tag, unless you find some of the AAU events that allow hard contact to the body.
I was lucky enough to encounter Joe Lewis several times. He's awesome, if you get past his arrogance.
These days, you can get a Black Belt in a year and a half...guaranteed.
I hate those schools.
Up to the time I made shodan, my instructor had only awarded 7 or 8 black belts in 20 years, and it was not pleasant when you were tested.

Ooops. The actual answer to your question is vague, but as you know, TKD uses a lot of high kicks, while karate guys usually have fast, powerful hand techniques--but this is a very generalized statement.