Engine not heating up to operating temp.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a 98 Ranger with the 2.5 and Auto tranny. I was just out a minute to run some errins. This was also the first time the truck ran all day today so I let it idle for about 30 seconds and then drive real easy, then proceed to drive as normal as the engine got warmer. Just a side note that the truck did have a coolant flush with Zerex green stuff just shy of a year ago when the thermostat was replaced with a fresh factory one. I've had bad luck with Autozones stats.

The weather up here has been very nice with clear skies mostly but it's just not reaching anything above 50 lately. Typical November weather up here. I noticed that my temp guage was not reading right in the middle of C and H. Here's a drawing to help describe. The periods indicated in the drawing help pinpoint where my temp guage is reading. Please forgive me as I'm not a computer artist
smile.gif

C_ ._____H This drawing describes where my temp guage was reading most of the time with my heater on.

C____.____H This drawing describes where my temp reades most other times without the heater on

My truck usually does this like I mentioned above with the heater on. Even when the heater fan is on low and the temp knob for the heater control set between Cool and Warm. My truck did this last winter too. Most other vehicles I have driven usually don't have a hard time heating up, even with the heater on. I know 4bangers take longer than most v6 and v8 engines to heat up but still mine shouldn't have any issues heating up.

For the heater to start blowing warm air, it takes about 5 minutes after start up.

I know this is lengthy but I'm trying to describe this as best as I can. Thanks,,,,,,AR

When it's around 0 degC (freezing point of water), it takes a good 5 or 6 minutes for my 3.1L V6 to warm up to a coolant temperature of 60 degree C (the temperature required before the interior HVAC fans will start).