NAPA, fram, ac delco ro purolotor fitlers?

Status
Not open for further replies.
was looking at NAPA, ac delco, fram and purolator filters. which one deps everyone think fitlers the best, and which ones to stay wawy from? ive been using fram triad technology fitlers for 6 months now, and still looks rather clean with the regular filter, it owuld have had at least something on it by now! theirs a NAPA near me,t hink their fitlers are better than fram? ive been told ac delco and purolator air fitlers are very good though. what do you think?

The AC-delco has shown to filter superbly, beating all the others in Grease's test. All paper filters will filter better then cotton, but there does seem to be a difference.

-T

Well I have always used the Purolator air filters in my cars. But recently I had been reading a lot of good things about the NAPA Gold air filters. So I went out and bought a pair of the NAPA gold air filters to compare to the Purolator air filter in my two cars. Both air filters are a flat panel design. The height (or depth) of the pleats as well as the width were the same for both the Purolator and NAPA Gold. But the pleat count difference shocked me. In the filter for the '01 Buick Century 3.1L, the Purolator had 63 pleats, while the NAPA Gold had 80 pleats, that is 27% more media surface area. In the filter for the '00 Grand Am 3.4L, the Purolator had 74 pleats, while the NAPA Gold had 95 pleats, that is 28% more media surface area. The price difference between the Purolator and NAPA Gold is minimal.

I am now sold on the NAPA Gold air filters. Hopefully the NAPA Gold media itself filters as well or better than the Purolator units.