First Goldwing Oil Analysis

Status
Not open for further replies.
2002 GL1800 Honda Goldwing:Mileage 31,600:Drain Interval 6,289 Miles:Oil Used Mobil 1:15W40 Delvac 1300 Super:

TBN:5.4

Aluminum 5/7
Chromium 1/1
Iron 32/20
Copper 11/8
Lead 0/1
Tin 1/1
Molybdenum 40/48
Nickel 0/0
Manganese 1/0
Silver 0/0
Titanium 0/0
Potassium 2/1
Boron 26/72
Silicon 9/7
Sodium 2/3
Calcium 2377/2398
Magnesium 438/146
Phosphrous 1126/949
Zinc 1319/1111
Barium 0/0

All other properties were well with accepted values. No Antifreeze or Water Present

Please add your comments. I'm new to Oil Analysis and review.

Should I continue to use this type of oil on a wet clutch bike or change to synthetic suitable for motorcycles.

My concern would be the moly numbers on a Goldwing.

IMO, I try to pick a oil that doesn't contain moly.

In my '78 Goldwing that I recently sold, I ran 15-40 Rotella with out problems.

Are you getting any clutch slip??

quote:

Originally posted by Motorbike:
Would you mind going ahead and posting the SUS Viscosity and the %fuel ?

What was the total months on the interval ?

The initial report I received from Blackstone contained errors. They compared my numbers to those for a Honda 1800 V-Twin.
I contacted them and they resent a new report.
Terry reported that they had no base line data on this engine and could not make a comparison at this time. Those first set of numbers are the only ones available.

I added about 5 oz of fuel injector cleaner to the gasoline soon after the initial oil change in September. I had no idea about oil analysis and never intended to have my oil tested. My education about lubricants only began in November. The Chevron Techron probably skewed the report.

The SUS Vis was 67.4, flashpoint 345,fuel 1.0 and insolubles 0.3. TBN was 5.4