OTC additives and products - what do we know?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is there some type of master-list somewhere of brands & products of OTC additives with updated levels and explanations of chemical and element compositions. (or something similar?)
Beyond the provided SDS and MSDS sheets from the companies.

I will be transparent to say that I am somewhat new in exploring the auto industry and information available.
But within a very short time I can already say that I do not like playing these all-time favorite guessing games of: "I am not this, or that, I am not a solvent, but I can do this! .... WHAT AM I !!" "guess what's in this bottle!? IT WORKS"

Honestly it looks like the companies are playing hide-n-seek and peek-a-boo with their customers and leaving big words on bottles like "MMMmmm TASTES GOOD!"
I am shocked this has been tolerated for so long. It's really disgusting.

So what do we know about specific brands, "secret" additive packages and product lines? MMO is apparently the most somewhat publicized formulation - possibly due to the previous plane legality issue?

Every branded company apparently has their own special way of making their soup. *I personally prefer mine with less salt.*

Considering OTC products are typically all that a consumer has at their disposal for any DIY situation... regardless of use, I feel like there would be some type of structured information out there.
Everything looks to be scattered and not very transparent, but maybe I am completely missing something here.

Any guidance or information would be appreciated!

Last edited:
That's an extremely broad question. In a properly maintained vehicle, there is no need for additives.

There's no need to wrap yourself around the axle on this. When you have a job that needs a specialized product, like to loosen rust, remove tarnish, clean brakes, clean electrical parts, etc, then go buy THAT product and leave the rest on the shelf.

Master list?
lol.gif