Is the spin-on filter's days numbered?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I work in the maintenance field and have noticed more and more canister style filters coming every year. I've especially noticed it on Toyotas, so far, every new Toyota I see no longer dons the old style spin on oil filter, instead they're all being phased out in favor of canister cartridge filters. And I'm seeing more and more of them on other makes as well. This is kind of a downer for me, I love the ease of installing and removing spin on filters, no special tools needed. All those new Toyotas have to have a special tool to take the filter out, can't just go down to the parts store and buy it either, they don't make them easy to get! Most other canister filters need special sockets to remove them as well.

So, what do you guys think? Is the spin on filter headed the way of the crank starter and the carburetor? I sure hope not! But it's starting to look and feel that way unfortunately.

I think the spin on will be around a long time. The claimed advantage of the cartridge style filter is being "environmentally friendly" since you are just disposing of some paper.

The spin-on is probably going to be around for some time.
Toyota favors the cartridge, but so did Mercedes and BMW for most models over many years and cartridge filters were the norm long before spin-ons came along.
Special tools?
Well, you could change the oil filter on any MB 123 or either of the two BMWs we've had with nothing more than the sockets you already have.
This was also true of the Ecotec GMer I once gave an oil change although you did need a CV axle size socket to remove the cap.
The more things change, the more the stay the same.

IMO spin on is the best bet any time the filter is UNDER the engine.

Cartridge is perfect when it is up top.

These designs with a cartridge under the car are plain idiotic. Gravity is not in the design's favor.

Originally Posted By: JHZR2