Towing 6500+ with my Titan last wknd....

Status
Not open for further replies.
Bought my 13 Titan in Jan of this year with 5700 miles. Dealer had possession of it most of it's life so technically I'm the 1st owner. Since 01 my dad has driven a 01 Supercharged Frontier that he bought new. It has over 260k, and it still runs well. I decided it was time for him to have something new so after cross shopping several dealers I ended up driving about 200 miles to pick up a 2015 Frontier SV Crew Cab. This was also a CPO vehicle that the dealer used. It had 4500 miles.

I rented a Uhaul Car hauler to go get the Frontier. Total load was right at or maybe a bit over 6500 lbs. This is my first time towing this much weight so I wasn't sure what to expect. The Old Dinosaur Titan did a very admirable job. It currently has 11,000 miles. I kept the speed around 65 mph on the way home. I locked out 5th gear, and towed in 4th. Not one time did it need to drop gears on any hills. It was a very comfortable tow that I would be OK towing across the country if I needed to. It made very easy work of this. The Trans temp gauge never budged from the normal temp. I don't recommend towing something like this 80 mph, but I was behind an 18 Wheeler on a 2 lane hwy at one point who kept swerving somewhat aggressively in, and out of the Emergency lane. I wasn't comfortable staying behind him so I gave it some gas, and easily passed him with the load behind me. It was necessary for me to do about 80 to quickly get around him so I could jump back into the right lane, and reduce my speed again.

Overall it performed better than I thought possible. I have the standard 2.94 gear set. They have an optional 3.36 available.

Being an OCD BITOG person, the Titan got Amsoil Signature Series 5w30 at 7100 miles. Transmission got a drain, and fill with Nissan Matic S at 6100 miles, and the rear axle got Amsoil Severe Gear 75w140 at 6900 miles

That's my tow review.